影与画 – 鸟

13/8/2019-20/10/2019

影与画 – 鸟
走遍世界各地,鸟儿飞进David的照相机;回到画室,再徐徐降落到惠芝的画纸上。 David与惠芝的艺术媒介、身处的空间各异,「鸟」这个题目将两人连系起来,促成他们的合作。他醉心摄影,捕捉雀鸟千姿百态,用镜头带她看得更远;她埋首绘画,用上自己的巧思重新呈现他的作品,栩栩如生。
「影与画 – 鸟」将展出二人两年来的合作成果,透过雀鸟营造出这个影与画的空间。

David感想
「有幸能与东华三院爱不同艺术以及一位画艺精湛的老友记合作。是次展览能成功展出主要是该中心职员同心协力花尽心思的成果。惠芝的画作出神入化,而我拍摄的相片只是一般。希望展出成功,多人参观及支持作品,感谢!」

关于David
「我是个粗人、读书少、没有艺术细胞,是一个木工。」
David在建造议会训练学院工艺测试中心粗细木工科主任导师,工作20年至1991年后退休,之后再回学院兼教至2014年正式退休。生平喜欢旅游、摄影主要拍生态,1989年开始做义务工作,主要是在国际十字路会做维修及建设等工作。也曾参与香港几所大学的学生到内地及海外做义务工作,主要是木工相关工作。

惠芝感想
偶然的机会在画室与David相遇,得知他是雀鸟爱好者,幸得他的邀请开展了合作,他的摄影作品很有价值,对我来说也是一个挑战。身体问题虽减慢我的绘画进度,但同时,我希望仔细认真地创作,在我的画作里一一呈现出David相中雀鸟的各种神态、羽毛细节。两年间,合作成果累积不少,借是次展览,让大家给予我们意见。

关于惠芝
莫惠芝的姐姐是一位国画师。自小受姐姐的影响,芝芝对绘画产生浓厚兴趣,曾经请姐姐充当老师,可惜为了逃避战乱,未能实现计划。她年长后,因健康及视力不佳,需要入住视障长者院舍,但她想不到在院舍会再有机会一圆「画家」梦。

惠芝是位完美主义者,在任何时间,都会不断练习。而且她有一份追求细致的执着,总把每一幅作品重复练习好几遍直到满意。

芝芝钟情鸟儿,一直向往鸟儿自由自在、无拘无束的生活;闲时,她在中心散步也喜爱观察麻雀和白鸽走路的姿态。她自「爱不同艺术艺术课程(三年)」最后一年起便开始研习以木颜色绘画鸟儿,下个阶段,她想深造水彩画的技巧,期望以水彩完成一系列鸟儿画作,继续伸延她对绘画的探索。

相关图片

Photographing and Painting – Birds

13/8/2019-20/10/2019

Photographing and Painting – Birds
Birds “fly” into David’s camera while he is travelling around the world, and they gently landed on Gigi’s drawing paper at the studio. David and Gigi with different art media at different spaces are connected by birds, the same theme of their artworks. This now brings about their collaboration. He enthralls to taking photographs. With the lens, he captures a variety of postures of the birds. Through the lens, she can see further. She immerses herself in painting. She re-presents his works vividly with her clever thoughts.

“Photographing and Painting – Birds” showcases the fruits of this two-year collaboration. Through birds, a space of photographing and painting is created.

David’s thought
“I am fortunate to be able to work with i-dArt, TWGHs and a veteran senior artist. This exhibition can be successfully held is for the concerted efforts of the staff of the Complex. The photographs I took are average but the paintings of Gigi are fascinating. I hope that the exhibition will be successful, and many people will come to pay a visit to support the artworks. Thank you! ”

About David
“I didn’t receive much formal education, and without artistic talents, just a woodcrafter.”
He had been the Supervising Instructor for the trade tests for Joiner of the Construction Industry Council for 20 years till 1991 when he retired from the Council. Then he took up the part time role at the Council and retired from his work life in 2014. He loves travel and photographing, particularly on wildlife. Since 1989, David has been a volunteer, mainly serving at Crossroads Foundation for the maintenance and construction. In addition, he went to mainland China and overseas with students of several universities in Hong Kong for wood work related volunteer service.

Gigi’s thought
By chance, David and I met at the studio. I was grateful to be invited by this bird lover for collaboration. It has always been a challenge to me, as his photographs are very valuable. Although my health condition has reduced the efficiency of drawing, I continue to create with a strong sense of will in order to present the birds and features in the work. Over two years, we have achieved great results, and through this exhibition, we welcome your views.

About Gigi
The elder sister of MOK Wai-chee, Gigi, is a Chinese painter. Gigi was fascinated by her sister’s art and wished to follow her steps. Her sister had once been her teacher. However, her dream could not come true because of the war. When she becomes a senior, her health and visibility are getting worse and she is required to stay in a care and attention home for visually impaired elderly. Unexpectedly, she has her second chance to have her dream as a painter come true.

Gigi is a perfectionist; she practices painting and calligraphy all the times. She has high demand for the setting when she paints. Owing to her keenness on details, she will practise a painting several times until she is satisfied.

In love with birds, Gigi longs for the free and unconstrained life of birds. During leisure time, she used to wander around the center and observe the walking posture of sparrows and pigeons. Since the final year of art course(3-year), she began the study of drawing birds with colored pencil. For the next stage, she would like to further develop the technique of using watercolor and finish a new bird series to continue the exploration of painting.

Related photos
i-dArt
Shop 1, G/F Block 2,
Centenary Mansion,
1 Victoria Road, Hong Kong
Google map
Tel
Tue-Fri
Sat-Sun
(+852) 3482 6163
11:30am - 7:00pm
1:00pm - 7:00pm
(Closed on Mon and Public Holiday)
i-dArtory
Back Shop, G/F,
Wing Cheung Mansion,
78 Morrison Hill Road, Wan Chai,
Hong Kong
Google map
Tel
Tue-Sun
(+852) 3598 2920
12:00pm - 7:30pm
(Closed on Mon and Public Holiday)

© 2019 i-dArt.
All Rights Reserved.